Starting Something New…

I believe starting something new in life is a very important aspect towards finding WHO we really are and fulfilling WHY we are.

Starting something new is always difficult. You know if it happens, you’d be happier but you don’t want to make it happen. You are always in the dual mind of whether to do or not do. The inner voice keeps telling you it’s difficult, you won’t be able to make it, be in your comfort zone, don’t venture out, and be happy with what you have. You have to overcome that and take action to get what you want in life. It takes a lot of guts to do that, for the first time, and then it becomes your forte!

Today, I’d like to share the time I made one of the most important decisions of my life – Starting my own blog!!

I used to write good 30 word stories, which was quite in vogue in 2010-11. With a friend’s suggestion, I was awed to the possibility of having my own blog. I wasn’t really sure what content would this blog have (I’m still discovering that yet!), but I took a leap of faith and started it in March 2011 – and titled it aptly Reflections; for it was an outlet for my imagination to take wings, a place to put my thoughts, a place to be myself! As time passed, these short stories became a bit longer, I added six new categories – sharing what I think, poems I started writing, photographs I clicked, my travelling tales, and quotes I loved! This blog meant the world to me!

However, as time passed, I started to lose the context as to why did I start this blog in the first place! It became easier to give excuses – This isn’t a priority, exams are, your job is… I already know what’s going on in my life and others don’t need to know the same… Is there anyone out there who is even reading… Who am I taking the effort for? These thoughts gripped me till December 2014.

On 3rd January 2015, someone took the effort to read all my posts overnight; sharing her thoughts on posts she agreed with or had a different view of! She found my blog through google search and loved it to the core! She most importantly mentioned how she can relate to some poems very much. I was amazed how I was able to touch and inspire thoughts of a woman in Canada – that too without knowing her! That day helped me reaffirm my purpose of continuing the blog and keep sharing. Even if my blog can help someone think through and be freed to be happy, all the efforts are worth it!! With this thought, I decided to rename my blog title to – Being Unreasonable. (Not giving reasons, just doing it).

Being Unreasonable stands for everything in life that I want and will work to get … It is my inner fight to remove time from mundane activities and do what I love a lot – Write. Writing helps me think through in ways others things cant. And it can reach to a wider audience. You never know who might need that short story, the quote, or picture to bring a smile on their face, help them keep going and play their game!

My life has changed after restarting the blog – I’m more happier and keep people around me happy. The way I look at life and people has changed. I’m more closer to what I was when I was young – Curious, free, eager to spread happiness!

So when are you starting something new?

P.S. Being Unreasonable completed 4 years in March 2015! Along with being happy for what I have done over these years, I’m equally committed to work on it and make it better!! Till date, the blog has received 1180+ followers and 2718 hits!

An interesting video showing Housing.com‘s logo making process

Leave a Reply

